This is the "Project Cork" page of the "NUR 4441: Mental Health Nursing Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NUR 4441: Mental Health Nursing Guide  

Last Updated: Sep 7, 2017 URL: http://libguides.resu.edu/mental_health Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Project Cork Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Project Cork Materials

Cork's mission is to assemble and to disseminate current, authoritative information on substance use for clinicians, health care providers, human service personnel, and policy makers. It produces CORK a bibliographic database of the substance abuse literature, and the emerging area of behavioral addictions. The CORK collection includes journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and special reports. 

The PowerPoints are at the bottom of the page.

The Brain & the Actions of Cocaine, Opiates, and Marijuana

Unit 1 in the series is intended for use with high school students. The unit is divided into three parts. The first section introduces the brain and presents some basic neurobiology, the second introduces the reward pathway and the third presents the mechanism of action of cocaine, opiates, and marijuana and how each affects the reward system. In addition there is an outline for the presenter and also instructions for creating slides, if these are preferred over a PowerPoint presentation. The unit is designed to take 30-40 minutes, without questions. There a total of 25 slides. The presenter needs to be familiar with neurobiology to use this unit. 
HTML Version 

 

The Neurobiology of Drug Addiction

Unit 2 in the series is intended for high school students. The unit is divided into four parts. The first section includes an introduction to the neurobiology of the brain. The second section deals with the mechanisms of reward. The next two sections deal with the actions of heroin and cocaine in the central nervous system. The unit is designed to take 30-40 minutes, without questions. There a total of 30 slides. As with other units in this series, a knowledge of neurobiology is needed to present this unit. 

HTML Version 

 

Understanding Drug Abuse and Addiction: What Science Says

Unit 3 provides an overview of drug addiction from the perspective of addiction as "a brain disorder." Beyond presenting the underlying neurobiology, it also includes material on risk factors, treatment, prevention, the role of self-help treatment outcome, and the cost-effectiveness of treatment. The unit is designed to take 30-40 minutes, without questions. There are 31 slides. It appears suitable as an overview presentation with a diverse audiences. 

HTML Version 

 

The Neurobiology of Ecstasy (MDMA)

Unit 4 covers the neurobiology of ecstasy, its actions in the brain, acute and chronic effects, with attention to neurotoxicity, impact on serotonin transporters. There are 20 slides. 

HTML Version 

 

Bringing the Power of Science to Bear on Drug Abuse and Addiction

Unit 5 is more elementary than the other units, using analogies such as the brain as "command central." The long term morbidity associated with substance use is emphasized and questions raised as to whether experimentation is worth the risk. There are 24 slides. 
HTML Version 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip